Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1978 Penny With Strange Color ?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 1,271Next Topic  

United States
13 Posts
 Posted 01/12/2020  02:19 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add RustyDOG to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
So I found this penny with this strange color. What cause this coloring ?

Bedrock of the Community
United States
35541 Posts
 Posted 01/12/2020  04:37 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
One that comes to mind is improper cleaning with soap and too hot water.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Valued Member
United States
494 Posts
 Posted 01/12/2020  05:02 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add lcutler to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The environment it was in. Coins can tone any number of colors depending on chemicals, moisture, temperature. Don't read too much into a coin because the color looks a little different.
Pillar of the Community
United States
1136 Posts
 Posted 01/12/2020  06:34 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Big-Kingdom to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
All of these "strange"color postings are best explained as "environmental damage"