Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Reg : Coin Collection And Conservation

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 9 / Views: 451Next Topic  

India
1 Posts
 Posted 04/05/2020  06:39 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Virendra to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Greetings to all community members,
I am Virendra,a mechanical engineer by profession and historian by passion from India.Firstly I am very glad to be part of this reverred community,which has been source of providing valuable Information regarding Numismatics.

I have been collecting some coins for a year or more.As a Beginner in Coin Collecting and have query that is - Can we segregate coins based on their metal type like (Nickel- Copper, Silver, Nickel-Steel, Nickel-Brass) for as of now and store it in separate propylene containers, while I await for my coin storage album which yet to be shipped.I asked this question on a suspicion of galvanic corrosion.

Any information,guidelines is appreciated.

Thanks and regards,
Virendra
Pillar of the Community
Canada
3440 Posts
 Posted 04/05/2020  09:28 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add oriole to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to the CCF.

That could not do any harm. Polypropylene is safe.

It might be even safer to store each coin in its own bag, if you can.

I have not heard of Galvanic corrosion to be a big problem (there are other bigger problems), but others may have more to add.
Bedrock of the Community
Canada
15261 Posts
 Posted 04/05/2020  4:09 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Dorado to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
To the Forum.
Valued Member
United States
117 Posts