Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1964 D Jefferson Nickel Error Coin? Help Needed

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 2 / Views: 162Next Topic  
United States
6 Posts
 Posted 05/19/2020  10:58 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Rosalita to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi guys,

I am new to coin community. I found this 1964 D nickel in my father's 1964 United States Mint Set and noticed that the rim on the obverse above Jefferson's head is flat or almost gone. Is this an Off Center Coin Strike Error?

Secondly, on the reverse it looks as though the mint mark 'D' been double died?

Lastly, wanted to ask why the color of this coin is more satiny? Is this a special strike or a proof coin?

Thanks very much. I appreciate all your comments which help me learn more about this 1964 D coin and error's I can't see or know about.

Pillar of the Community
United States
3151 Posts
 Posted 05/19/2020  11:24 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Greasy Fingers to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Up to 1989 if the mint mark looks doubled,then we /they are called re-pounced mint marks (RPMs) and if your not familiar with this site Varietyvista.com, check it out, they list most all double dies and RPMs
Others should be by to answer your other questions...
Pillar of the Community
United States
640 Posts
 Posted 05/20/2020  6:26 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add nick10 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply