Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

What On Earth Have I Found?

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 17 / Views: 943Next Topic
Page: of 2

United States
5 Posts
 Posted 08/12/2020  11:06 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add NeilUSCoin to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi Everyone, hoping you can help. I'm new to metal detecting and have only found modern change until I found this. It rang up similar to a modern clad quarter, but not quite the same.

It's about the size of a quarter but much thinner. It doesn't have any obvious grooving on the edge. It is heavily corroded but when wet and under a bright light I can make out some details. Photos attached as well as a sketch of the detail that is revealed when wet under a bright light.

"The future of" is in a raised large font. The circle is engraved. The letters (the first may be a N) are engraved as is the 9.

Help?

Thanks Neil

Bedrock of the Community
United States
35528 Posts
 Posted 08/13/2020  04:42 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to CCF. Give it a bit and members will chime in.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Valued Member
United States
210 Posts
 Posted 08/13/2020  07:18 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Grelko to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Is there any way that you would be able to clean it up a little more and post another couple pictures?
Pillar of the Community
Canada
916 Posts
 Posted 08/13/2020  10:03 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add GMS5 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply