Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

I Think This Is A SMS 1964 Penny

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 603Next Topic  

United States
6 Posts
 Posted 10/22/2020  06:23 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add ddi to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
What do you think?

Bedrock of the Community
United States
36524 Posts
 Posted 10/22/2020  07:40 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to CCF. Here is info. We need close ups of your coin.
https://coins.ha.com/itm/lincoln-ce...sults-012417
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
52237 Posts
 Posted 10/22/2020  09:51 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Coinfrog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Yes, much larger pics of both sides, please.

to the CCF!
Learn More...
United States
92481 Posts
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
47462 Posts
 Posted 10/22/2020  11:05 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add coop to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Probably not. The only SMS examples are in sets. The hope to find one is not a realistic goal. There are markers for that die:
Obverse:

Reverse:

The die is VEDS (Very-Early-Die-State) It is a special strike (probably twice) making it stronger. Because they didn't make proof cents on the 1965-1967 coins, these were special strikes that have almost a matte finish on them.
Richard S. Cooper
Some have asked about my images I use and I'm glad to say, you can now you can see the DVD in sections on youtube: