Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1805 Piece Of 8 Questionable Authenticity

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 8 / Views: 413Next Topic  

United States
1 Posts
 Posted 11/13/2020  12:29 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Alexprice30 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hey everyone, I'm new and I hope I'm posting this in the right place. An acquaintance of mine purchased this coin at a flea market and I am trying g to help determine if it is authentic. I may buy it from him if it is. Its not in great condition. It is non magnetic, it looks and sounds like silver. I have no experience with 8 reales but I've noticed that it appears to have some error on the shield. It looks as if some slag or some extra silver was in the die when the coin was struck. Any help determining authenticity will be greatly appreciated!

Learn More...
United States
94239 Posts
 Posted 11/13/2020  4:06 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add jbuck to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to the Community!

Your post was moved to the appropriate forum for the proper attention.
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
4176 Posts
 Posted 11/14/2020  09:39 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add tdziemia to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

It looks like the die used for the reverse (shield) was in a state of deterioration. This would explain the die crack that runs from the top of the left column, through the crown, and over to the H in HISPAN. Maybe also the cud (that blob of metal at about 11:00).

We have experts here who will give you an opinion on authenticity when they see your coin.
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...