Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

3 Uncirculated 1955 Quarters With Possible Identical Errors

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 26 / Views: 663Next Topic
Page: of 2

United States
8 Posts
 Posted 02/27/2021  01:29 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Red Leader to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I have three 1955 quarters that I purchased out of an uncirculated coin roll. Under close inspection I can see what looks like Identical marks across the top of Washington's head. Two of the coins marks run out to the right of his head.

I am a novice when it comes to knowing about this kind of thing. I will attach photos of all three coins.

If anyone can help me I would greatly appreciate it.
Thank you guys so much!!
Bedrock of the Community
United States
38462 Posts
 Posted 02/27/2021  04:23 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to CCF. Not an error but a variety. It is a die crack.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Pillar of the Community
United States
647 Posts
 Posted 02/27/2021  04:30 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add smat45 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Looks like a die crack...
Imagine the die making the impression develops a crack in it...when it strikes the blank planchet to deliver the image...the metal being formed from the strike will flow into the crack ever so slightly leaving that impression on the newly struck coin. So all coins struck with the die that has this crack will show this same crack.
Nice finds!
smat
Edited by smat45
02/27/2021 04:32 am