Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

I Am Inexperienced In Coin Storage, And Am Looking For A Safer Alternative To Vinyl.

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 8 / Views: 448Next Topic  
United States
15 Posts
 Posted 01/18/2022  10:03 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add dunkleosteus430 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello, this is my first time posting on the forum, although I have been reading it for a while. I was looking for a coin album for my relatively small coin collection on Amazon (of course) and most contained PVC. I thought about cardboard 2x2s, but wondered if the plastic covering sandwiched in them was safe for coins. I am also looking for a less expensive option, of course, preferably under $25. Once again, I am looking for a safe way to store my coin collection, which is currently in a pencil box filled with mylar 2x2s.
I look forward to talking.
Pillar of the Community
United States
586 Posts
 Posted 01/19/2022  12:15 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add CentSation to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I would just say that it all depends on how you want to display/enjoy your collection as to what storage method to choose.

As far as PVC, I was under the impression that PVC was not used for coin storage products anymore [with the possible exception of products from China/third-world countries].

The flips are generally safe and are a standard for storing coins relatively cheaply.
Those who know what's best for us, must rise and save us from ourselves -- Witch Hunt
Bedrock of the Community
Australia
19595 Posts