Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

I Have A 1955 Penny That Seems To Be With Error

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 20 / Views: 800Next Topic
Page: of 2

United States
7 Posts
 Posted 01/19/2022  9:42 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Vchafin72 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am totally new to this coin life. Can someone help me gain insight to "mint error" or "post mint damage" t
Thank you so very much in advance!
Edited by Vchafin72
01/19/2022 9:44 pm
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
67910 Posts
 Posted 01/19/2022  10:06 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Coinfrog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Looks like post-mint damage in these pics. Please show us larger, full-size images of both sides.

to the CCFF
Edited by Coinfrog
01/19/2022 10:06 pm
Pillar of the Community
United States
1532 Posts
 Posted 01/19/2022  10:11 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add mrwhatisit to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
We you to this awesome place and it is ok to be totally new! This 1955 Denver minted cent is unfortunately suffering from lots of post mint damage, and what we would call a 'parking lot coin' meaning it spent some quality time getting about, to what we see today.
Pillar of the Community
Australia
1107 Posts
 Posted 01/19/2022  10:51 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add coaster to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Vchafin72

Looks like it could be a case of Zinc rot!

Pillar of the Community
United States
1540 Posts