Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

What Dimes Should I Look Out For?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United States
11 Posts
 Posted 04/09/2013  3:53 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add tomboy872 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm a newbie and usually hunt for older dimes, but when looking through rolls, should I keep an eye out for anything more recent... example... is a 2000 D dime significant in the least bit? or even a 1968 D dime?
Edited by tomboy872
04/09/2013 4:36 pm
Pillar of the Community
United States
3433 Posts
 Posted 04/09/2013  5:01 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add smokeriderdon to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Really the only ones date wise to look for are 1999 P or D due to somewhat low mintages. Check any 1996 dimes you find and see if they are W mint marked. There was a special West Point minted dime included in the 1996 mint sets, and occasionally they end up out in the wild. Otherwise just look for neat errors.
United States
11 Posts
 Posted 04/09/2013  5:05 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add tomboy872 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
thanks for the info! much appreciated. Just picked up some rolls from the bank and I dont want to miss anything.
Valued Member
United States
462 Posts
 Posted 04/09/2013  5:46 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add KisNap to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I believe they mean 2009 P and D dimes. Those numbers were in the tens of millions instead of the hundreds of millions.
United States
11 Posts