Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest! Check out our Google+!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

2015 $5 American Golden Eagle Error?  

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 08/09/2017  10:14 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add xricinx to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I’m not sure if this is considered an error as I could not find any examples of this on the internet. It almost looks like a bit of silver in the AGE metal mix did not completely melt with the gold and copper and left a pure silver spot that wraps around the side of the coin. I’m new at this and just wanted to know if this was considered a true error that could be valuable? One guy I showed the coin to first thought it was a fake gold plated silver coin, it is not. It is a real $5 AGE. Please let me know what you think.

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
2240 Posts
 Posted 08/10/2017  07:37 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add uruman to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
, could you get a full obverse and reverse picture also?
Bedrock of the Community
United States
10609 Posts
 Posted 08/10/2017  08:11 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add moxking to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
. My first assumption would be the same as the person that you showed it to. Plated.

Show both sides of the coins with two photos and we can help determine authenticity first.

Even if it is a spot error, there probably aren't 10 people on earth that collect gold eagle errors. It would be a distraction, rather than something that would increase the value.
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
12422 Posts