Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest! Check out our Google+!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1981 Penny possible error  

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 08/11/2017  9:44 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add ajones2530 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am new at collecting coins and came across this 1981 penny that has half of the rim missing. Is this an error or from everyday wear ? I'm just learning so every little thing interests me.
United States
41 Posts
 Posted 08/11/2017  9:48 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add JeBipp to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I think it is a off center strike.....which I believe is considered an error.
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
3628 Posts
 Posted 08/11/2017  9:49 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Spence to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
@ajones2530, first welcome to CCF! Second, it looks to me like this coin was struck slightly off-center, but others who know much more than I do will weigh in too. Posting a pic of the rev would be useful. Neat coin!
"It certainly strikes the beholder with astonishment, to perceive what vast difficulties can be overcome by the pigmy arms of little mortal man, aided by science and directed by superior skill." --Henry VIII
Pillar of the Community
United States
2767 Posts
 Posted 08/11/2017  10:12 pm  Show Profile   Check spruett001's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add spruett001 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

It's either MAD (mis-aligned die) or off-center. We need a pic of the reverse to tell.