Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Question: Value of Split Grade coin

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Valued Member
Learn More...
Canada
284 Posts
 Posted 03/13/2018  08:59 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add KHatt to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

I'm still learning about coin collecting and I have a question about the value of split grade coins (from TPGs); for example, a VF-30 or EF-45 or AU-58.

Is there a rule of thumb for how these are valued relative to the Trends.

Is a VF-30 half way between VF and EF, or a third, etc?

How much does attractiveness play into it? I've seen AU-58s with luster that are nicer than many MS-60s
Pillar of the Community
United States
6162 Posts
 Posted 03/13/2018  09:31 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add SilverDollar2017 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to the CCF!

I don't understand what "split grade" means, as coins with a grade like VF-30 or XF-45 are normal. There's nothing unusual about that grade.

There are 70 grades on the Sheldon grading scale, but most of the time a round number is used for a grade. For example, VG-8, VF-35, MS-65. A coin graded VG-8(Very Good 8) has slightly more wear than a coin graded VG-10 but less wear than a G-6 (Good 6).