Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1893-O Morgan Grade?

Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
Valued Member
United States
233 Posts
 Posted 05/22/2019  12:17 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add mail187man to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I co-worker brought in some coins for me to check out, and there was one in particular I would like CCF's opinion on. I guessed XF45-AU50.

Bedrock of the Community
United States
27599 Posts
 Posted 05/22/2019  12:29 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Do the magnet test.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Valued Member
United States
233 Posts
 Posted 05/22/2019  12:36 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add mail187man to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I will try and go get a weight and magnet test. These have been in my co-workers family since the early 1900s. His grandmother owned a store and saved about 2 dozen morgans from people using them to pay. I did the ping test and it's definitely silver.
Bedrock of the Community
United States
27599 Posts
 Posted 05/22/2019  12:52 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Yes,weight and magnet test. I am no pro but I kinda have a feeling,it looks suspicious. It is a high dollar coin if real. Good luck.
John1
Valued Member
United States
233 Posts
 Posted 05/22/2019  1:06 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add mail187man to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply