Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Opinion On Authenticity (Roman Coins)

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Germany
4 Posts
 Posted 05/24/2019  7:39 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add paulhan to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hu guys, well as you can see I am a newbie in the community and in coin collecting. As part of my first steps in coin collecting I am trying to identify trusted sellers and therefore have made some purchases from different individuals. In this attempt of mine I would probably need your help in order to identify the authenticity of the coins (I try to do my own research bust still, a more experienced opinion is always helpful) and create my trusted/untrusted seller list. As the current purchases were made on eBay I made sure to buy the coins from sellers with very good ratings, although they were never 100% positive (most had about 99.8% positive rating, with only a couple of buyers complaining about fakes). That being said in the following pictures you will find 2 coins from the same seller, and I would be very interested to know your thoughts, as to if they are original or not.

1) The first is a Silver Denarius depicting Caracalla on one side, and trophy + captives on the other.

2) The second is a bronze Diocletian Antoninianus - CONCORDIA MILITUM

as previously said, any insight as to if I can be confident or not of their authenticity is most welcome.
Thanks
Edited by paulhan
05/24/2019 8:05 pm
Bedrock of the Community
Australia
15440 Posts
 Posted 05/24/2019  8:33 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add sel_69l to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply