Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1934 Wreath Crown, Your Thoughts?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United Kingdom
1 Posts
 Posted 06/10/2019  2:17 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add jeffmoz50 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi all,I'm a newbie here.

I have just purchased a 1934 wreath crown that has spent its life within the centre dail of a finger dial telephone that was made in 1933 and came from the "Crown Hotel" in Harrogate UK. The phone was a pyramid type and seems to have been made especially for the Hotel given its name "Crown Hotel" and that the Hotel name was on the body of the phone too.

The coin was in the centre of the finger dail where normally there would be a sticker and it was stuck in with a black resin type substance.

I have managed to remove the coin from the phone dial without any damage occurring, but had to boil it in order to remove the residual material. Surprisingly enough it has come out great, but I may do a Baking soda and aluminium foil wash just to finish it off.

Here are some photos of said coin in its housing and after removal and I would really like to pick forum members brains about their thoughts to see if they are in agreement with me on its authenticity.

I do own a full set of replica wreath crowns just for their appeal, but recently saw this up for auction and thought what the heck, why not?