Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

New Member Ed In Fort Worth, Texas

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 08/18/2019  8:14 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add coins4ed2 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm looking for a coin collecting buddy to help me go through all my coins. I'm new to collecting and have amassed quite a bunch of coins that I need to sort through and figure out which ones I need to send off for grading and auction. Here's a pic of a dime I found in a road just the other day the letters are legible but deformed and the reeding on the side is even still there.

If anyone can tell me the specific classification of this error please let me know. It looks like a dyke lip but the planchette hasn't been clipped off. Almost all of the original coin is still there there reeding on the side is visible and all the lettering is also visible they're just different form help me out if you can please.
Forum Dad
Learn More...
United States
20025 Posts
 Posted 08/18/2019  8:18 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add bobby131313 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Sorry but you answered your own question, you found it in the road. It's just damage.
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
12732 Posts
 Posted 08/18/2019  8:20 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Spence to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
@coins4ed2, first welcome to CCF. Second, as @bobby noted, your coin is damaged rather than being a mint error. This one can be spent, but I'm looking forward to seeing what else you have collected!