Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Proof Vs Uncirculated . Which Is Better?

Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

United States
22 Posts
 Posted 09/14/2019  3:53 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add 3wheels to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm very new to coin collecting and am looking at starting a tradition and buying a set of uncirculated coins each year for each of my kids. I'm wondering which is better to buy for them. A proof set or uncirculated set? Am wondering which might be more valuable down the road for them if they were to decide to sell the coins individually or as a set if any of the coins start selling at premiums. It almost seems like uncirculated is the way to go, but would welcome expert feedback. :)

Thanks in advance.
Valued Member
United States
355 Posts
 Posted 09/14/2019  4:05 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add hfjacinto to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Currently both older proof and uncirculated are selling for LESS than they cost from the mint, so I don't know if any are good "value" . I recommend you pick the one you like more. I like proofs as they are different than regular coins. But again uncirculated cost less and you get twice the coins (p&d mints) while proof is just s mint.
Bedrock of the Community
United States
17350 Posts
 Posted 09/14/2019  4:06 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add moxking to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The U.S. Mint provides excellent detailed listings of everything they sell. There are many choices offered each year.