Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1941 LWC Ragged Clip And Huge Lamination Error On Reverse!

Previous Page | Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3
Bedrock of the Community
United States
29402 Posts
 Posted 09/16/2019  04:40 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Thank you spruett001.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Pillar of the Community
United States
581 Posts
 Posted 09/16/2019  05:06 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Petespockets55 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Wouldn't the weight help with an answer, as large as the depression is?

Underweight and this would be peeled lamination (delamination).
Overweight (or close to normal) and it would be a struck through.

I've considered these to be peeled lamination based on the "rumpled" floor of the depression as well as the outline of the remaining metal through the N of CENT. But a struck through "copper fragment" that bonded with the planchet might produce the same effects, which is why the weight is important IMHO.
Valued Member
United States
480 Posts
 Posted 09/16/2019  10:49 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Sarge50 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Will get a weight ASAP.....be advised there is a portion of the coin missing from a suspected ragged clip so that will effect weight! Stand by for weight.......
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
10085 Posts