Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1843 O Seated Liberty Half Dollar

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United States
16 Posts
 Posted 10/24/2019  4:16 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add MS69 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm interested in comments & opinions on this Seated half dollar. It is not mine and I have no knowledge that it would be for sale. A local friend and his family recently moved their mother into a retirement center and found this coin, along with another seated half, a possible copper planchet the size of a dime, and several Silver Certificates, among other items. By my untrained eye, this coin looks to be in a grade of Fair to maybe a little bit better. It took a little bit to notice the scratches placed on the right side of the Obverse. they are light and not easy to see in hand but under magnification, they jump right out. Likely done a long time ago and look to have been done using a straight edge to keep the lines true. My first thought was that they mimicked the bars of a British flag but could just be something someone randomly did. Again, just looking for comments and opinions.

Loren

Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
17900 Posts
 Posted 10/24/2019  4:29 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add moxking to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
VG-10. Parallel lines are from an old cleaning, but much of the peripheral toning remains intact.
Pillar of the Community
United States
553 Posts
 Posted 10/24/2019  5:11 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Heymikep to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply