Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1982 D Penny Extremely Strange Errors

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
2 Posts
 Posted 11/12/2019  2:36 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Chisox55 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello, I am new to coins and I recently came across this penny. I'll include pictures but here's a description. The line you see coming out of Lincoln's eye IS part of the coin and it is raised, it is not something stuck on the coin. Also the coin is extremely two toned, almost as though it's two different metals. Any help would be greatly appreciated thank you!
Edit: I also just weighed the coin as 3.1 grams which leads me to believe it is made of the 95% copper alloy.

Edited by Chisox55
11/12/2019 3:54 pm
Pillar of the Community
United States
2094 Posts
 Posted 11/12/2019  3:37 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Greasy Fingers to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I don't think any of us would be able to help you without larger photos..please crop out all of the background until you reach the rim...looks some what interesting...
Bedrock of the Community
United States
30379 Posts
 Posted 11/12/2019  4:01 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to CCF. 1982-D large date copper. The red stuff is on the coin,nail polish maybe. Acetone should remove it.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
United States
2 Posts
 Posted 11/12/2019  4:40 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Chisox55 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply