Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1965 5 Cent Nickel Possible New Variety? Long Post With Pics

Next Page

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2
Valued Member

Canada
197 Posts
 Posted 11/18/2019  04:00 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add JohnWayne007 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Long post Alert!

Please read the whole thing before commenting so that you know all the details before hand.

Hey guys, so I know that claiming to have found a New variety is a pretty big assumption considering I am new to collecting and I'm still finding my way around but I would like some opinions on this and that is why I did as much digging as possible before posting this.

To start it off I was looking through my 60's to 70's nickels and I had a bunch of 1965's from when I was searching for the Large Bead and I forgot about them for a while. Well tonight I stumbled across something while checking them out, I was looking at the dates of them all and one stood out more than the others.

Here you will see I have a picture collage of Four 1965 Canadian 5 Cent nickels. no big deal right? Well if you look closely to the First top left photo the number 5 is quite different than the other 3.

If you haven't noticed by now the number 5 in the first photo looks thinner than the others, that's because it is! Not only that but it is a lot further away from the 6 than the others are. I took the liberty of marking the photo where I measured the gap between the 6 and 5. But not only that, I also measured it!