Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Milk Spots On Graded Coins

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 973Next Topic  

United States
28 Posts
 Posted 01/31/2020  6:46 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add coin searching to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi everyone. I am new to coin collecting and to this community. I bought a few graded silver coins with milk spots on them. From my online search, they are unavoidable and the spots can develop over time and after they were graded. Are the grades meaningless after the coins inside the slabs develop the spots or do they still hold the same grades?

*** Moved by Staff to a more appropriate forum. ***
Pillar of the Community
United States
8091 Posts
 Posted 01/31/2020  9:43 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add CoinCollector2012 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The grade on the coin is still most likely accurate, but milk spots hurt the eye appeal of the coin and will trade at a discount to what the price guides say. Can we see some pics of the coin in question?
Sets in progress... Washington quarters, 7070 Type Set, WLH Short Set
View my collection here! http://www.coincommunity.org/galler...hp?cat=10518
ANA: 3183215
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
Canada
15769 Posts
 Posted 01/31/2020  10:26 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Dorado to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
To the Forum.

Bedrock of the Community
United States
19352 Posts
 Posted 02/01/2020  4:46 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add just carl to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

Milk spots make the value drop.
just carl
Pillar of the Community