Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1964 Doble D Mint Mark Nickel

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United States
6 Posts
 Posted 02/19/2020  4:40 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Salem D to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hey, I'm just getting into coins and metals, so I'm a newbie. I don't know what it was that got me hooked so to speak but after watching many videos on YouTube about coins I started looking at my own change and seeing if I can spot anything interesting. So I came across this 1964 Jefferson nickel with a Denver mint mark that appears to have an error, the error being a D over a D.. the pictures really don't do it justice and sorry I don't have a better camera but in person with a magnifying glass the error is very noticeable. Just wondering if I'm mistaken and if I'm not what should I do next, thanks!
Learn More...
United States
83885 Posts
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
43098 Posts
 Posted 02/19/2020  5:07 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add coop to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
When looking at mintmarks on the coins, if the side towards the closest rim is looking different. It is probably die wear. That is what I'm seeing on your image. Die wear moves the devices towards the closest rim.