Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Need Help Identifying Modern Ancient Forgeries, Pleas And Thank You.

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 362Next Topic  
United States
14 Posts
 Posted 05/28/2020  7:07 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add ancientnewb to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Well I'm new to ancient coins. And I need help. I Have collected u.s. coins for quite some time and got bored. I ended up purchasing many hundreds of dollars worth of coins on eBay a nieve mistake without doing research first. The seller gaurentees all items so I had no worries till I started my research. That's how I found this sight.
And came across the list of fake eBay sellers. The person that I bought from is on this list. I found that the vaspasian coin pictured was a known forgerie. And the two raja lakhana udayaditya coins came separate and are identical. I even found the genuine coin that these were cast from on vcoins, unless that one is a fake too. But my question is are any of these coins in the pictures authentic, they are made of silver and the hemiobols look real here are the pictures. I have done lots of research on the history and rulers of these coins and feel informed on what they are supposed to be. I also have weights for most of them from the post
1.The udayaditya coins are around 2.5 grams and I have 3 identical which leads to fake
2.The vaspasian,, Titus and Domitian 2.8 grams know forgery on forgerynetwork.com
3.The sinitruces or gorteze coin is 3.39 grams unsure of authenticity
4. The phillip II with head of Apollo on front and a chariot on reverse is 3.1 grams the only similar one I can find is a gold stater