Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Bought Some 'Unknown Coins' Off Ebay

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 8 / Views: 492Next Topic  
Germany
14 Posts
 Posted 08/05/2020  3:35 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Ocra00 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
First off, I am fairly new to coin collecting - so I'm trying to build a nice collection at the moment.

I received some coins in the mail today, that were sold as 'unknown' off Ebay for a low price.

I am wary of counterfeiters using this as an excuse to sell their junk, but these seem genuine judging by the wear on the coins.

I managed to identify most of them (but as you can see in my other post I didn't manage to get them all).

Does any of you know if this collection contains something more special or rare?

1. Byzantine, Follis. Not sure though from which time or ruler though.
2. Milan, Filippo II, Trillina (1556-1598 ND)
3. Catalonia, Louis XIV, Dinero (1645)
4. Nicea, Severus Alexander (222 - 235)
5. Siege of Maastricht, 16 Stuiver (1579)
6. Solferino, Carolus Gonzaga, 1 Soldo (1644-1678)
7. Unknown

Edited by Ocra00
08/05/2020 4:02 pm
Learn More...
United States
23220 Posts
 Posted 08/05/2020  3:44 pm  Show Profile   Check echizento's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add echizento to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The first coin is Arab-Byzantine, nice group.
Bedrock of the Community
Australia
17289 Posts
 Posted 08/05/2020  8:12 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add sel_69l to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Quite a few respected coins dealers and also quite a few respected home based collectors who buy and sell coins on line use eBay.