Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Has Anyone Done Home Silver Refining?

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 36 / Views: 1,276Next Topic
Page: of 3
Valued Member
Learn More...
United States
165 Posts
 Posted 10/26/2020  12:18 pm Show Profile   Check silverstash119's eBay Listings Bookmark this topic Add silverstash119 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I know it may not be entirely cost effective, but I am an environmental scientist by trade and I do have some chemistry training.. Chemistry lab was my favorite subject in college, and this kind of seems like a fun hobby. Just wondering if anyone here has done it and can share any successes/failures. Thinking of hunting for sterling at cheap prices and slowly building up some equipment.
Pillar of the Community
Canada
3824 Posts
 Posted 10/26/2020  12:38 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add oriole to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I think one big issue would be dealing with the emissions/ pollution from the refining process.
Valued Member
Learn More...
United States
165 Posts
 Posted 10/26/2020  12:44 pm  Show Profile   Check silverstash119's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add silverstash119 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
It'd be on a pretty small scale, and I'd be outside with an acid gas respirator for additional safety. Not concerned that there would be a significant air quality impact to the environment.
Pillar of the Community
United States
840 Posts
 Posted 10/27/2020  10:37 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Cross-eyed to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply