Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1901 P Barber For Grading - First Post

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 13 / Views: 316Next Topic  

United States
5 Posts
 Posted 11/21/2020  12:51 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Penz to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello. This is my first post. I want to thank all of you for the many informative posts you make. I have greatly enjoyed trying to learn Barber half grading by reviewing many of these posts. Very useful and educational indeed.

This said I am new to collecting Barbers. Have been reading the books and posts both on the subject. I am a young retiree with a limited coin budget say 500 a month would be doable. I would like to build a date/ mint set over time with a goal of VF type coins eventually although am ok with lesser where budget will prohibit a key date that nice etc.

I had the pleasure of sitting at a local dealer for the first time and spending a couple hours with a loupe I purchased under a nice proper incandescent light looking at a box of 2x2s mainly G and AG with a very few nicer pieces in there. I really liked the picture coin and wonder if you folks can tell me what you think on grade and explain to me how it arrived at the exact appearance it has how did it end up toned like this with a cameo sort of appearance etc? I am unsure on lots of this sort of knowledge at this time as a newbie.

Many thanks. Kevin

United States
5 Posts
 Posted 11/21/2020  12:59 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Penz to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply