Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1971 D Kennedy Clad Half Dollar Error?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 7 / Views: 260Next Topic  
Bedrock of the Community

United States
3 Posts
 Posted 11/26/2020  2:36 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Perkycoin to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am new to coin roll hunting. This clad 1971 D Kennedy half appears to have an error on reverse. It seems the top of the Kennedy head from obverse has struck through slightly. It can be seen from F-DOLL to under the bottom arrow head. It can also be seen under olive branch by the bottom Eagle toe.

My questions are
-How common is this? I cannot find any information on this error.

I will try again to upload picture if it doesn't work with this initial post.
Bedrock of the Community
United States
3 Posts
 Posted 11/26/2020  2:51 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Perkycoin to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

Learn More...
United States
18,290 Posts
 Posted 11/26/2020  3:00 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Spence to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
@perky, first welcome to CCF. Second, are you talking about those surface striations on the coin around the tail feathers? That might be due to the die striking this coin being tired.
"If you climb a good tree, you get a push."
-----Ghanaian proverb

"The danger we all now face is distinguishing between what is authentic and what is performed."
-----King Adz

Bedrock of the Community
United States
907 Posts
 Posted 11/26/2020  4:13 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add nick10 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply