Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1964 Lincoln Penny Found In Coin Roll

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 13 / Views: 481Next Topic  

United States
27 Posts
 Posted 05/09/2021  7:42 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Derfsup to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm new to this and I'm not sure if I found something good or interesting. It's a 1964 Lincoln penny.it's copper weight is 2.56g it's thinner than the the penny should be and smaller it's more like a dime in size and thickness. Would this be a mint error or how would you classify it

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
2145 Posts
 Posted 05/09/2021  7:46 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Rothery to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Funny they are still out there. Back in the day people would grind them down to dime size to cheat the vending machines into thinking it was a dime being inserted. That's actually pretty neat to find one now a days......
Valued Member
United States
363 Posts
 Posted 05/09/2021  7:53 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Oldfordman to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Did you find it in dimes or cents? You made me curious with this coin.
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
58039 Posts
 Posted 05/09/2021  8:27 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Coinfrog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Cut down deliberately for some unknown zany reason.

to the CCF!
Pillar of the Community
United States
1693 Posts
 Posted 05/09/2021  8:44 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Dearborn to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply