Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Penny With In God. Stamped Up Too Far, Worth?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 8 / Views: 300Next Topic  
United States
2 Posts
 Posted 07/30/2021  7:00 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Nehmo to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm just trying to figure out if this penny is worth anything? I'm new to this hobby. The other penny in the pic is just for reference.

And where do you sell these coins? Is eBay the best place?
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
Canada
11669 Posts
 Posted 07/30/2021  7:06 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add JimmyD to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to the CCF

Your comparing a 1950 coin to a 2005 coin.
The master die was changed during that time.
You have to compare coins of the same year.
Also your 1950 has what is called a ridge ring caused by Die Deterioration
and is also a Misaligned Die
Edited by JimmyD
07/30/2021 7:08 pm
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
53503 Posts
 Posted 07/30/2021  7:11 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add coop to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Actually the 1950' dies could have worn, or the master hub was different that they master hub design of today. All coins that year have the devices in the same places, but die wear will make some devices move towards/into the rim. You have to compare the coins from the same years to see what is normal, not 71 years different designs.
Richard S. Cooper
Some have asked about my images I use and I'm glad to say, you can now you can see the DVD in sections on youtube: