Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

What's Up With This Penny 1986? So Many Scrathes

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 4 / Views: 245Next Topic  
Canada
23 Posts
 Posted 01/16/2022  10:23 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add MrMartinez to your friends list Get a Link to this Message

Bedrock of the Community
United States
44614 Posts
 Posted 01/16/2022  10:38 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Also showing ridge ring. The scratches are from die abrasion. It is a well-used die.Not an error or variety.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 6.5 +/- Million Cents Since 1971
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
Canada
14647 Posts
 Posted 01/16/2022  10:41 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add JimmyD to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
The mint worker didn't polish it up after is was abraided.
No value to it but keep as a good example.
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
67617 Posts
 Posted 01/16/2022  10:58 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Coinfrog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Die polishing lines for sure - note how they lie underneath the raised devices on the coin, not on top.

to the CCF!
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
57348 Posts
 Posted 01/16/2022  11:45 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add coop to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply