Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1967 Copper Dime Anything Special?

First page | Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 35 / Views: 1,561Next Topic
Page: of 3
Bedrock of the Community
United States
45110 Posts
 Posted 01/23/2022  03:51 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Yes. If it is in acidic soil, it will lose weight and sometimes crud will develop and adhere to it adding weight.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 6.5 +/- Million Cents Since 1971
Valued Member
United States
62 Posts
 Posted 01/23/2022  7:31 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add RoscoeCham to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
2.18 grams is the weight. They are supposed to weigh 2.27 correct?
Valued Member
United States
62 Posts
 Posted 01/23/2022  8:01 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add RoscoeCham to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
It does have crud and corrosion, which I would think would weight? Just very interesting to me, wish I had better pictures or a microscope to look at it better! I appreciate all of your opinions!
Learn More...
United States
23687 Posts
 Posted 01/23/2022  8:14 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Spence to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

Quote:
2.18 grams is the weight. They are supposed to weigh 2.27 correct?

True, but with a tolerance of 0.09 g. If your coin was missing a clad layer, it would be dramatically under mint spec. You have a spender here.
"If you climb a good tree, you get a push."
-----Ghanaian proverb