Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Tolerances On Cleaned Coins

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 19 / Views: 790Next Topic
Page: of 2
Valued Member

Italy
303 Posts
 Posted 03/05/2022  10:58 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Roma2021 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hello,

As I mention in almost every post, I am new to collecting...and live in Rome.

I come across a lot of 19th century silver crown coins and they are nearly all cleaned... Below is an example. I am.soliciting opinions on how tolerate folks are on collecting these. Certainly, price has to be considered. I understand some basics... For instance, I bought an 1873 Belgian 5 franc coins last week, uncleaned, for 4 euro over melt. I bought a 1935 Venezuelan coin, poorly cleaned, for a euro over melt. How do people feel about these, using the specimen below, which is priced at 40....

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
7792 Posts
 Posted 03/05/2022  11:48 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add commems to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I guess you could say I have a low tolerance for cleaned/polished/damaged coins. If I can tell a coin has been cleaned/polished/damaged, I do not buy it. (Note: I don't consider coins that have been given one or two quick dips as cleaned coins; coins that have been dipped repeatedly to the point they have damaged/lost their original surfaces are a different matter.) I admit to being fooled once or twice!

Nothing I pursue is unique, so I'm content with waiting for an original example of whatever it is I'm considering.

As I like to say, "Coins don't heal!"