| Author |
Replies: 17 / Views: 3,696 |
|
Valued Member
United States
371 Posts |
|
|
|
|
Moderator
 United States
23522 Posts |
I'd like to take a length of 2" hardwood dowel to that seller.
With that out of the way, it must be said that he pretty plainly tells the reasons why you'd be a fool to buy his coin.
|
|
Pillar of the Community
Canada
4944 Posts |
Yeah - definitely a scam...
Seller said it himself in his listing: "BUYER BEWARE"
|
|
Moderator
 United States
16677 Posts |
This guy knows exactly what it is. Yeah, 2x4 sounds about right.
swcoin.ecrater.com
|
|
Valued Member
United States
361 Posts |
A 2 x 4 is too good for him. The funniest thing about his auction is he is basicaly telling everyone that this is a rip off. I guess something does not have to be illegal to be unethical.
|
|
Valued Member
United States
287 Posts |
I just told him it was a Chinese fake and that it is illegal to sell them in the USA. I told him that he now knows it is a fake as I was sending a copy of the email to myself and that I have reported the auction. he could be fined and put in prison for knowingly selling it. Let's see if he will cower or if he is a golddigger.
|
|
Valued Member
United States
178 Posts |
"You are buying on Speculation" 
|
|
Pillar of the Community
United States
3345 Posts |
What an idiot-posting an ad to sell a coin and than telling people not to buy it. Must be trying to use reverse psychology.
|
|
Valued Member
United States
62 Posts |
Did you ask him for more terrible pictures?
|
|
Valued Member
United States
220 Posts |
Think I might make an offer of $1.00 maybe it would cover the shipping 
|
|
Pillar of the Community
United States
8904 Posts |
|
|
Pillar of the Community
United States
2120 Posts |
|
|
Pillar of the Community
United States
1801 Posts |
I bet he is fully aware that the "cc" mintmark on an 1846 Silver dollar stands for "chinese counterfeit" not Carson City".
Edited by jfransch 06/11/2011 11:53 pm
|
|
Valued Member
United States
460 Posts |
It will be interesting to see if it gets pulled
|
|
Moderator
 United States
23522 Posts |
I'm not sure it will get pulled. The listing is not in the least deceptive.
|
|
Rest in Peace
United States
9104 Posts |
http://cgi.ebay.com/200618541020 (link with garbage removed) I'm pretty sure ebay rules say that unless you specify that it's a copy (of what, in this case?), it must be genuine, and lack of knowledge on the seller's part is no excuse. I think they'll pull it. Deceptive? I think so. They're trying to make bidders think it might be some sort of pattern coin. Even with the lousy pix, it looks like he opened one staple to examine it.
|
| |
Replies: 17 / Views: 3,696 |