Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Dollar Bill Searching?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United States
9 Posts
 Posted 05/09/2018  10:15 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Monkey to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm fairly new to coin collecting. I know that people get rolls of coins to search for dates and silver.

Is it normal/productive for someone to get a stack of dollar bills from the bank and search them? much like coin roll hunting?

Idk if paper collecting is similar to coin collecting in that way, or if it's highly unlikely to find any special paper currency by getting stacks of it from your bank.

Thanks!
Pillar of the Community
United States
2112 Posts
 Posted 05/09/2018  10:28 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add SteveInTampa to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Yes, many members visit banks to search through straps of paper money.
Just like coins, some paper money collectors rely solely on circulation finds.
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
37725 Posts
 Posted 05/09/2018  12:17 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Coinfrog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

to the Paper Money Forum!
Edited by Coinfrog
05/09/2018 12:18 pm
Valued Member
United States
112 Posts
 Posted 05/09/2018  12:18 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Occirats to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Try it all and find your niche....It's about what makes you happy and peaks your interest.. "productive" from what I can tell involves some luck and chance in eit.her case esp. for a beginner who doesn't know every thing to look for..