Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

British One Pennys Worthless ?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

United Kingdom
1 Posts
 Posted 02/01/2020  04:17 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add g7hej to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I am a newbie to all this seem to have about 30 of these coins all different years presume they not worth much just a shame to have them in a carrier bag in my shed, I have tried to post pictures and thinks this is the earliest, are they worthless ?

Bedrock of the Community
United States
32608 Posts
 Posted 02/01/2020  04:24 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to CCF. I doubt they are worthless. Check eBay sold values for an idea on current values.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Valued Member
United Kingdom
308 Posts
 Posted 02/01/2020  05:04 am  Show Profile   Check PaddyB's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add PaddyB to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply

The vast majority of 20th century British pennies and halfpennies in that condition have very little value I'm afraid. I regularly take box loads to the scrap man!
There are a few that could be worth more, but it would take a lot of explaining to tell you what to look for. There are people whose lifetime hobby is collecting pennies and they still struggle spotting some of the rarities.
One thing you can look for is any mintmark letters - these appear on 1912, 1918 and 1919 pennies to the left of the date - you are looking for H or KN. Still not scarce but fun looking.