Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1922-P Peace Dollar - DD On Back Neck Or MD?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 11 / Views: 397Next Topic  
United States
29 Posts
 Posted 09/02/2020  08:07 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Marine1999 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Is this Machine Doubling or a Double Die on the back neck? Thanks!

Bedrock of the Community
United States
35977 Posts
 Posted 09/02/2020  08:16 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Looks like MD,small chance of maybe retooling of the die. It is not a doubled die though.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 5+ Million Cents Since 1971
Pillar of the Community
United States
6635 Posts
 Posted 09/02/2020  3:55 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Earle42 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
- When I value " being right" more than what IS right, I am then right...a fool.
- How much squash could a Sasquatch squash if a Sasquatch would squash squash?
- Prosp long and liver.
United States
29 Posts
 Posted 09/24/2020  07:38 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Marine1999 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
As a noob collector I appreciate the guesses you've all provided. After a few minutes of research on another site I found the cause and correct term(s) to be channeling or die retouching with a 100% chance of the error being channeling. Just my advice, it really helps to use correct terminology and to leave out guesses when attempting to help out new coin collectors.