Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1884-S Morgan Dollar Grading Skills Needed - First Coin I Sent To NGC

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 40 / Views: 1,293Next Topic
Page: of 3
United States
28 Posts
 Posted 10/30/2020  3:41 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add CapeCoralCoins to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Dear all,
I just received this coin back from NGC and wanted your opinion on the grade. I am new to grading and sent my first coins to NGC so I wanted to see how you guys would grade it :)

The pics are the HiRes pics provided from NGC.

Of course I will reveal the grade in the end.

Thx all and have a nice weekend

Valued Member
United States
169 Posts
 Posted 10/30/2020  3:49 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Morgan Nerd to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Kind of black, and no mint luster. I'd say AU-58.
Pillar of the Community
Canada
970 Posts
 Posted 10/30/2020  4:13 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add GMS5 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Current state of the pic's provided precludes me from giving a grade.
The Cheek looks clean, but the Obv. looks cleaned around the lettering. Impossible to tell.
Could be anywhere between AU-50 to MS65
Pillar of the Community
Canada
3189 Posts
 Posted 10/30/2020  4:14 pm  Show Profile   Check silverwolf's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add silverwolf to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I hope the photos aren't a true representation of the actual coin..

It is near impossible to grade a coin from those photos..
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
5631 Posts