Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Is This Russia 1775 Catherine II 5 Kopeks Real?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 5 / Views: 220Next Topic  
Valued Member

Singapore
52 Posts
 Posted 01/17/2021  09:21 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Coins Mania to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Dear all,

I have no experience with this type of coins and I need advise if this I paid USD34 for is a genuine coin? Weight is 52.2g, Diamenter 42mm to 43mm, thickness 4mm to slighly over 5mm

Also am I over paying?

Thanks in advances
Pillar of the Community
Canada
4006 Posts
 Posted 01/17/2021  09:41 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add oriole to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
It looks real to me. A bit battered as is typical. The damage around the edges suggest that it should sell for no more than a VG price. Check NGC World coin price guide for the current book values.
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
4370 Posts
 Posted 01/17/2021  10:05 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add tdziemia to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Agree on authenticity. Here is another out-of-round example in similar condition that sold for about $25: https://wcn.pl/archive/188984?q=Rosja+1775

There are also recent sales on eBay.
Edited by tdziemia
01/17/2021 10:07 am
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
54703 Posts
 Posted 01/17/2021  10:27 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Coinfrog to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Sure looks right to me.
Valued Member
Russian Federation
190 Posts