Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

MS? 1938 P Nickel Found During CRH?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 13 / Views: 230Next Topic  

United States
13 Posts
 Posted 01/18/2021  12:17 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add c_b_mazur to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Found a 1938 P Nickel during a coin roll hunt. Looking at the Red Book Description I think this might be a AU or MS coin. Also looked at PCGS site to compare and am leaning more toward MS. But I am no expert, that's why I am getting the advise and knowledge of all of you.

Valued Member
Poland
401 Posts
 Posted 01/18/2021  12:38 pm  Show Profile   Check norantyki's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add norantyki to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Not UNC, many contact marks, and some evidence of wear on the high points. I am also not an expert on this type, but grading generally, I would say high EF-low AU (aggregate AU-50), but leaning toward the lower end of that range, ie: EF-45.
Dealer, collector - Coins, Banknotes, Watches, Stamps, Antiquities - Norantyki.com
Edited by norantyki
01/18/2021 12:39 pm
Pillar of the Community
United States
2966 Posts
 Posted 01/18/2021  12:55 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add ijn1944 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Nice example. I'm thinking AU50++.
Pillar of the Community
United States
946 Posts
 Posted 01/18/2021  1:45 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add nick10 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
AU-53, maybe AU-55, a fun find
Bedrock of the Community
United States
37757 Posts