Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1941 Mercury Dime... My First!

Next Page | Last 15 Replies

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 18 / Views: 472Next Topic
Page: of 2
Valued Member
United States
389 Posts
 Posted 02/24/2021  5:37 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Nells250 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Just received my first Mercury dime, a 1941 D.

I know it isn't an earth shattering item or worth a "mint" (rimshot) but the first time I saw one I said I needed one.

Now... since I am new to all this, I peeked at my Red Book and tried to see what grade it is. I am thinking somewhere around EF-40?

I see that the "diagonal bands" are important (still visible) but the "braids and hair before ear" are throwing me off a little as I am not 100% sure I know where the ear is supposed to be! After all... there are big ears, small ears... corn ears... and most people do NOT have wings on the side of their head!

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
904 Posts
 Posted 02/24/2021  6:03 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Classic Coins to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Nice coin, Nells! I like the strong rims.

The Mercury dime is one of my favorite designs.

I agree with EF-40.
Valued Member
United States
389 Posts
 Posted 02/24/2021  6:08 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Nells250 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
:-)

I was looking and looking and rarer dates with tons of wear still go for some money, so I had to choose a more common year to get something that hadn't been worn to metal tissue paper!