Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Newfoundland 50c - Obverse 1 Or Obverse 2?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 10 / Views: 380Next Topic  
Pillar of the Community
Canada
573 Posts
 Posted 04/15/2021  06:44 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Silver101 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I've been staring at the NFLD 50c for two years now and still can't easily distinguish one obverse from the other. The Charlton guide describes differences in the laurel wreath which I don't see for example. People talk about elements of the face; the lips....but they're pretty subtle.

So, does anyone out there have a definitive way of distinguishing obverse 1 from 2? This is an 1898 small w - it's priced as though it's an obverse 1 (though still on the high side in my opinion) but, to me, it looks like an obverse 2.

Pillar of the Community
Canada
633 Posts
 Posted 04/15/2021  06:59 am  Show Profile   Check TheDeductible's eBay Listings Bookmark this reply Add TheDeductible to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I too struggle with this. The lip, I think, is the best indicator but once wear comes in to play its too hard to tell the difference. The Charleton distinguishes them also with one having the upper most leaf entering the legend band but I have seen zero evidence of this. The truth here is that the differences are too small for collectors to readily and easily identify, so I don't think many people really even try to.
Pillar of the Community
Canada
9784 Posts
 Posted 04/15/2021  07:42 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add JimmyD to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Type 2