Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1964 Jefferson Nickel / Does This Show Doubling?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 12 / Views: 177Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
131 Posts
 Posted 05/12/2022  9:52 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Newherehavingfun to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
1964 Nickel has some oddities that I need help understanding. Thanks for your time. There is possibly doubling on obverse, the Y in Liberty. Also maybe in the 4 and also the area below the ribbon in his hair. On reverse, does the dome show doubling? (Don't yell at me for pic quality! I'm trying! Lol)
It seems clear but as a newbie, I've been wrong before.

Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
7325 Posts
 Posted 05/12/2022  9:58 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Dearborn to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
What it is showing is a worn die and some MD to the devices around the circumference of the coin. What I do find interesting it how the Monticello building looks at the dome and under the stairs.
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
57307 Posts
 Posted 05/12/2022  10:00 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add coop to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
More of an extremely worn die issue. Not hub doubling. The die was normal when created. Now it is a very senior die. The die is showing its age.
Richard S. Cooper
Some have asked about my images I use and I'm glad to say, you can now you can see the DVD in sections on youtube: