Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

1985 Lincoln Cent Missing Letters.

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 13 / Views: 594Next Topic  

United States
35 Posts
 Posted 06/04/2022  1:18 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Danzil to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
1985 Lincoln penny missing the L in Liberty & the 2nd S in States on reverse is very faint.

Bedrock of the Community
United States
45723 Posts
 Posted 06/04/2022  1:25 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Worn die issue or a plating issue. Spendable.
John1
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 6.5 +/- Million Cents Since 1971
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
United States
58744 Posts
 Posted 06/04/2022  1:56 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add coop to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Grease? I see no evidence of widened devices.
Worn die? Note not all of the devices are not affected the same.
Plating issue? I see no zinc showing
DDD had affected the devices at one time, but was polished off of the die.
This has moved into the second stage of DDD, where the ridge ring as there, but also it was polished off.

So we are seeing the second polishing of the die that removed the ridge ring on the obverse die.

Note the shadow behind the hear and towards the rim? That was how much of the field on that side that was polished away on that area.