Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Ideas For Collection/Set

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
United States
20 Posts
 Posted 06/18/2013  5:55 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add aalmcc4 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I'm new to the coin game. I've been into coins almost a year now and after a cursory "education", I'm ready to start a set, of some sort.

I got into coins because of my love for history. I am presently very interested in the Depression era and just prior to the Depression...the 20s. Basically, 1919-1941. In fact, I'm reading a few books about the era at the same time. Anyhow....

What ideas could you more experienced collectors offer for ideas for sets? My budget is pretty much up to $250 each or so for the more expensive coins in the set. Could be more here and there (mostly less), but I'm not willing to spend upwards of $750+ for a coin.

A few I thought of were depression era Buffalo nickels in lower MS grades, from 1929-1938 OR Mercury dimes from 1929-1940 mid MS. Depression era Lincoln cents from 1929-1940. That kind of thing.

Any suggestions for maybe a set of all coins minted in a particular year? I thought maybe 1929, but there's no dollars and 1929 Walkers seem pretty pricy. Or maybe all coins minted in a particualr Presidential administration in that era?

Anyone do a similar set? Any ideas are greatly appreciated! Also, adding some notes from the same era would be neat too?!

Thanks for any ideas you have.

Valued Member
United States
149 Posts
 Posted 06/18/2013  6:03 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add jgettings00 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply