Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Any Tips To Help Me Start Collecting.

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 12 / Views: 272Next Topic  

United Kingdom
2 Posts
 Posted 06/30/2020  8:02 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add Andy501 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
Hi, I am new to collecting and have only really bought a few items. I am looking to start collecting more over the years ahead. I am asking for any tips or tricks to help start me off. Is there anything you wish you'd of known when you started.
Thanks for your help.
Andy
Pillar of the Community
United States
1974 Posts
 Posted 06/30/2020  8:22 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add hfjacinto to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Welcome!!
Well each person collects differently, what may work for me may not work for others, but I can tell you what I do.

1) Set a budget: I have a certain amount every pay period go to a hobby account. I can use this money for anything related to my hobby. So for astronomy telescopes, camera lens, speakers or coins/currency.
2) Set a Max Budget: How much are you willing to spend? That will decide also what to collect.
3) Set a minimum condition: Set a minimum condition and stick to it, for example for Indian Head cents I wanted full liberties until it hit into number 2, my Max budget so I went with a lower condition that had good visual appeal.
4) Be flexible: Let's say you are collecting Canadian Small cents and you also want to start Canadian Large Cents, if you find a few good large cents, you should get them as long as they met conditions 2 and 3.