Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Is This 1980 D Nickel Worth The Time?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 10 / Views: 370Next Topic  

United States
24 Posts
 Posted 06/02/2022  04:15 am Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add justlizw to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
I found this 1980 D nickel and the date, which we all know is on the obverse appears to be double stamped. Can y'all please tell me whether it's worth my time? Thanks in advance

Bedrock of the Community
United States
45723 Posts
 Posted 06/02/2022  04:32 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add John1 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
( I'm no pro, it's just my humble opinion )
Searched 6.5 +/- Million Cents Since 1971
Learn More...
United States
24163 Posts
 Posted 06/02/2022  06:09 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Spence to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
I agree that the distortion in the letters and numbers is due to this coin being struck from a tired die. This one would be a spender for me.
"If you climb a good tree, you get a push."
-----Ghanaian proverb

"The danger we all now face is distinguishing between what is authentic and what is performed."
-----King Adz
Bedrock of the Community
Learn More...
Canada
15739 Posts
 Posted 06/02/2022  06:30 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add JimmyD to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
Notice the flow lines running towards the rim,
that is caused by Die Deterioration.
Pillar of the Community
United States
8913 Posts
 Posted 06/02/2022  07:13 am  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add ijn1944 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply