Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Live Coin auctions starting as low as $1
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Is It Worth Getting "State Quarters" PCGS Graded?

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 13 / Views: 791Next Topic  

United States
18 Posts
 Posted 12/03/2022  12:51 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add hikerguy62 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
First, I'm very new to the " Coin World" and looking for some advice on whether to have some coins graded or not.

I inherited some coins recently and decided to start going through some of them. I have approx. 30 quarters that I'll call " State Quarters" (they're from 1999-2016 and have a different design for each state).

When looking at eBay, some sell for a few hundred, but then when looking at the PCGS app, the only pricing they show are for coins in MS (mint state), PR (proof) and SP (specimen) state.

My gut tells me these probably aren't worth much since they're all loose. They look good, but they were just tossed in a bag. I know the lowest fee on the PCGS website is $17 for what they call MODERN VALUE (1965 to date). So I'd want to be pretty confident I can get at least $30 (if not more) to make it worth my time to send any of these in for grading.

Can anyone provide a little guidance on what I should do here? Is it most likely these coins are worth they're face value and I should just spend them (probably on lottery tickets lol)?

Thanks,

Andy
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
620 Posts
 Posted 12/03/2022  12:57 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Hondo Boguss to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
to the Forum, Andy!