Coin Community Family of Web Sites
Live Coin auctions starting as low as $1
Like us on Facebook! Subscribe to our Youtube Channel! Check out our Twitter! Check out our Pinterest!
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

Welcome Guest! Need help? Got a question? Inherit some coins?
Our coin forum is completely free! Register Now!

Parking Meter Reject Coins

To participate in the forum you must log in or register.
Author Previous TopicReplies: 13 / Views: 599Next Topic  
Valued Member
United States
474 Posts
 Posted 12/07/2022  5:48 pm Show Profile   Bookmark this topic Add jason39305 to your friends list Get a Link to this Message
So, I'm an architect as some of you might know, and I'm currently working on a project for our city. I was meeting with the department which handled the parking meters and they had a cup filled with foreign coins that were pulled from the meters. I asked for the cup and they gave it to me. Needless to say, I was pretty excited. So I did a quick gloss over and there were many Canadian quarters and UK 10 pence, etc. I did find one silver Japan 100 Sen, an interesting transit token, a Mexican 10 centavos and what I believe is a quarter blank planchet! Y'all chime in and let me know if it is a blank. No reeds are present.

Edited by jason39305
12/07/2022 6:16 pm
Pillar of the Community
Learn More...
United States
596 Posts
 Posted 12/07/2022  5:54 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add Hondo Boguss to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply
What a great haul, Jason!
As for the potential quarter planchet, weight and diameter are needed.
Inordinately fascinated by bits of metal with strange markings and figures
Valued Member
United States
474 Posts
 Posted 12/07/2022  6:12 pm  Show Profile   Bookmark this reply Add jason39305 to your friends list Get a Link to this Reply